Seen any good movies lately?

(Sorry for the long delay between posts. I have found that maintaining a blog is somewhat harder than starting one. I will try to be more faithful to the page.)

What is it about movies that make them so popular? Here are some reasons that I’ve come up with (in no particular order of significance):

1. I think that people in general like to hear a good story and that a good movie is a good story well told.

2. I  think that people today like their stories told in a tolerable form. While it would take a whole day of concentrated reading to finish the average novel, an average movie tells its tale in the course of a couple of hours.

3. Since the advent of television, I think we are becoming a people more prone to watching than to reading. Whatever imagination it takes to become engrossed in a good book is slowly seeping from our collective consciousness.

4. Movies are a lot more accessible  these days. You no longer have to go out to the theater to see a movie (unless you want to) or to wait for it to come on television, complete with commercials and maybe a little editing to make it fit into the pre-packaged time slot.

You can get your movies for free at your local library or for a paltry sum at your local market or Red Box machine. You can rent them online and receive them through the mail.  Heck, you can even buy movies and start your own cinematic collection.

The next time we meet, I’ll start sharing some of my favorite movies and why I like them.

I’d like to hear from you, too.

Thanks for your time.

About scribon

I have been writing for a good many years, but not too much in a public way. It's kind of like the guy who goes for a run in the morning before the sun comes up, under the cover of darkness, away from the sight of others. I grew up in a large family (ten kids) in a small city in Southeast Michigan. I have been living the second half of my life in an even smaller village and in a slightly smaller family (married with seven children) in the same area.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

